Peace River’s not always so peaceful

The name “Peace River” conjures up images of solitude and calm. But life inPeace Riveris often more not quite that peaceful. The area has had its share of excitement and not-so-peaceful activities – enough to inspire me to explore the darker side of life in the area. One of the things I’ve come across in preparing for my up-coming release is the sheer number of spooky ghost mysteries associated with the region.

I came across a few interesting mentions of spookiness inPeace River. For example, the St. James Anglican Church is thought to be haunted by Pat Wesley, a resident of the town who died of smallpox in 1910. Several people have reported unexplained movements in the deanery. But my personal favourite is that the Peace River Record-Gazette is rumoured to have a ghost walking its halls. Apparently phantom typewriter noises are heard at night as a phantom journalist works into the night to hit an unknown deadline. With stories like these, I couldn’t help but be inspired to edge towards creating a gloomier literary atmosphere!

Comments are closed.