Breaking down “Evil”

I’m super excited about the upcoming release for my latest novel, Evil on the Peace River. It’s a real departure from other things I’ve written which provided me with a lot of interesting opportunities, as well as challenges. I’ve decided to spend a few posts talking about those different elements and how all it came together.

It’s the story of two psychopathic brothers who’ve broken out of prison and are on a rampage across thePeace River region. But of course, what’s a good ‘fugitive on the run’ story without a strong protagonist? I’ve found though that in most of these kinds of stories the protagonist is usually a single (male) police officer. But while there is a main detective who figures prominently, I didn’t really want to have the story centered around him and his role in the case. Instead, I’ve pitted the deranged brothers against a formidable foe: Jane Hall – an independent rancher on a solo journey through the Peace Hills.

I wanted to dismiss some of the clichés associated with these types of stories and I didn’t want women only playing the role of victim. Jane is a strong female character I’m really proud of – I like to think there’s a little bit of me hidden inside that characterization. I’m looking forward to sharing her with all of you as soon as Evil on the Peace River is available for sale!

Comments are closed.