Being inspired by your surroundings…

I was thinking about the writing process today and what writers need to thrive. They often say that there are two kinds of people in the world, “city folks” and “country folks.” The kind of isolation a person can feel living far away from a major metropolis isn’t something everyone can deal with. I thrive on it; I couldn’t imagine living somewhere where I could see everything my neighbour was doing and vice versa.

In fact, I find the isolation pretty inspiring – it lets your imagination run wild. You’re not bombarded by the same distractions as you are in city living, and for a writer that’s incredibly important. Being able to go for a walk and be confronted by the open landscape is a lot like being given a blank canvas for your imagination.

Comments are closed.