The lazy days of summer

The race to enjoy the last vestiges of summer is on. With each passing day, the sun is inching ever closer to the horizon earlier and earlier. It’s one of the things I love about living out here, those long summer evenings that just seem to go on forever. But I have to say that as a writer, summers can be murder for my creativity.

And with the heat waves that have been hitting everyone across the country this year, it’s a wonder anyone’s able to write anything at all! Sure, air conditioning can help—but in all honesty, the gorgeous weather sometimes is just far too distracting. There are just so many other things I’d rather be doing than hunkering down at the computer or with my notepad on a gorgeous day.  Who wouldn’t want to spend this time sipping lemonade on the porch with a good book?

But I read a great piece recently that helped me break through this ‘summer writer’s block’. I thought I’d share it with you all in the hopes that it might inspire other writers out there to get back to it! Enjoy it!

And while you’re waiting for that creative bug to bite, don’t forget that my newest release, Evil in the Peace River, makes excellent lemonade-sipping fare!

Comments are closed.