Writing at the speed of light!

A couple of weeks ago I talked about writer’s block and how to snap yourself out of a summer funk and start getting creative again. Well how about jump-starting your writing for the fall? That’s the idea behind the 3-Day Novel Contest. 

That’s right, the title says it all: you have 72 hours to write a complete masterpiece!

You have three days to write an entire novel, writing only the outline in advance, and before you ask, it’s based on the honour system (or extremely annoying family members who will crack down on you hard).

I know a few people who’ve done this (and they even did a reality television show in Edmonton a few years ago), and I’ll be honest—their war stories were excruciating. The endless hours spent listening to the buzz of the computer monitor, the coffee shakes, and the inevitable bouts of insanity that come with depriving yourself of sleep and contact with the outside world!

I don’t know if I have it in me to do it, but maybe someday I’ll give this a try just to be able to say that I did it once!  If any of my readers out there are brave enough to embark on the 3-Day Novel adventure this year, good luck!

Comments are closed.